Fireside Chat

Joining President LaForge is Emily Jones, university archivist and campus liaison for the Dedicated Statesmen Association, a committee of retired Delta State faculty and staff overseeing the university’s 91st anniversary celebration on Sept. 15.

In 1924, two Mississippi senators introduced a bill to create Delta State Teachers College, which was signed by the Governor on April 9. Just under a year later, James Wesley Broom was appointed the first president of the college, and the college formally opened on September 15, 1925, with 11 faculty members and a fall enrollment of 97 students. This Thursday, the university will celebrate that monumental day in its history with a special program commemorating Delta State’s 91st academic year.

The program will begin at noon at the Alumni Clock Plaza in front of Ward Hall and will include speakers and complimentary lunch for everyone. This is the second of a series of yearly programs leading up to the centennial celebration set for 2025.

In other news on campus, our Student Government Association will host a Meet and Greet reception for Dr. Vernell Bennett, Delta State’s new Vice President for Student Affairs, tomorrow from 2 to 3 p.m. in the second floor lobby of the H.L. Nowell Student Union. On Friday, Delta State will host the 26th Annual Rice Tasting Luncheon at the Walter Sillers Coliseum. To stay up to date with all of Delta State’s activities, events and news visit

Share Button